jump to navigation

El País Digital Edition now in English November 28, 2010

Posted by Daniel Martin in General.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This is a new feature of the digital edition of El País newspaper. Highly recommended for those of you who are studying English at an advanced level. You can do a lot of vocabulary work by having a look at words that you are constantly hearing these days like “plan de rescate”, or “bailout” in English. As you are already familiar with the stories, your brain will be able to register in those words and chunks of language less painfully. Another technique that I use as a -French- language learner myself is this: I highlight key words from a news story and then I try to retell the story using those given words. I also look critically at how those words combine with other words and try to utter sentences that follow those patterns.

Comments»

1. rafa - November 30, 2010

Thanks indeed Daniel, as always you’re always seaching for new ways to practise and improve our English…. well honestly I have to say that it’s a pity that I must read “El pais”, I’ve spent years trying to avoid reading it, but I think in this case it’s for a good reason, so I’ll make an effort, and I’ll try, perhaps in English it’ll be different… anyway thakns again !


Leave a Reply

